Frequently Asked Questions


1. What is DIT?

The DIT is one of the semi-autonomous bodies under the Ministry of Education and Sports (MOES).
The DIT draws its functions from the Business Technical Vocational Education Training (BTVET) Act 2008.
The Act places DIT in a strategic position which requires it to lead several reforms of the BTVET sub-sections including the establishment of the Uganda Vocational Qualifications Framework.

2. What is the difference between DIT and other examination bodies?

DIT emphasizes assessment of competences, geared toward industrial needs and the world of work while other bodies have non-industrial oriented examinations.

3. How long does it take for candidates to get their certificates after being assessed by DIT?

One gets his/her certificate between 2-3 weeks.

4. What does it take for a Technical / vocational Institute to be accredited by DIT as an assessment centre?

The institute should obtain a certificate of registration from the BTVET department at the MOES, and then come to DIT to obtain accreditation forms. DIT then goes to inspect the institution to check if the requirements for accreditation are met (workshops, space, tools, competent instructors and hygiene). If the requirements are met, the institution is given an Assessment Centre Number and a certificate of registration by DIT.

5. What are the benefits of getting DIT certificates after assessment?

One is declared competent in performing the occupation.

6. What is the difference between Non-Formal /Modular Assessment and Formal Assessment?

Non-Formal Assessment is where one does not attend learning activities but gets involved in workshop practices. One learns by doing and bit by bit (modules). The idea is to perfect skills. The learner is assessed in his/her preferred language, training does not take long for each module and there is no entry point.

Formal Assessment requires classroom training; it combines both classroom knowledge and workshop/ skills training. The entry point is:

Level I – PLE Certificate

Level II – S.4 or S.6 Certificate

Level III – must have Level II Certificate or a Diploma.

7. How many occupations does DIT assess?

1. Artist and Designer
2. Brick layer
3. Carpenter and Joiner
4. Caterer
5. Beautician
6. Computer Applications
7. Domestic Electrician
8. Hair Dresser
9. Leather Designer
10. Motor Vehicle Mechanics
11. Knitter
12. Weaver
13. Painter and Decorator
14. Plumber
15. Tour Guide
16. Welder
17. Agriculture
18. Stenographer /Office Secretary
19. Tailor
20. Fitter Machinist
21. Auto Electrician
22. Electronic Technician